Author Interview: Mr. James Morris

   Hi Sir Jim! Welcome to my little blog. Thank you for accepting my interview!

IMG_20151126_223635

  1. First of all Sir, I was so overwhelmed to have a chance to review your book, WHAT LIES WITHIN. We’ve been known that you are a former writer of some well-known TV series. What are the reasons you’ve decided to write a books? 

Answer: Hi Nicay, the pleasure is all mine, and thanks for giving my book a read, and sharing it with readers! That means so much!I loved working in television. It’s a collaborative process where a team of writers help shape a show, and it can be fulfilling.

At the same time, you’re also working with characters that have already been created. And there are many limitations: budget, actor schedules, and the like. While working on a book is a very solitary process, it’s also gratifying to have no filter between me and the reader. Truthfully, I like both TV and writing books, and in a perfect world, I would do both!

  1. What are your inspirations to write a book? And what are the reasons that you’ve come up with a mystery/thriller book? I love that genre so much. 

Answer: I love thrillers, too. I love going on a ride, you know? And that’s what I wanted to give to readers: a thrill. Something that hooks them from the first page and doesn’t let them go until the very end. Hopefully, I succeeded. I also liked the theme of exploring identity: who are we? What are the forces that shape us? Are we as independent as we think we are?

  1. What will be your tips to those who wants to be a successful writer like you? 

Answer: Thanks for the compliment, but being a writer, the term “successful” is a hard one. There is a lot of time where it is just you and the page, writing. You have no idea if people will respond good or bad to your work. You have no idea if anyone will like it enough to buy it, or like it enough to tell their friends.

Being a writer is really about having a strange combination of ego and humility; ego, because you feel as if you have something to share to others, a story to tell; and humility, because the business of being a writer is very tough. There is a ton of rejection involved. My tips would be: study craft, but most of all, love the act of writing for itself. Not for money or anything else. Those things aren’t guaranteed. But no one can ever take away the thrill of creating a book or story from nothing. I find that magical!

  1. And lastly, can you give a message for your fans and aspiring authors out there? 

Answer: For aspiring authors, I say keep going. Keep facing the page. For fans of the work, I say thank you! You will never know the feeling I get when someone says they like the work. It makes it all worth it.

     Well, thank you for answering my questions Sir. And I hope your success towards your books. 

Thanks, Nicay! Maybe I’ll reach out when my second book comes available in the next few months! Appreciate your time!

 Jim,

14005518

About this author:

James Morris is a former television writer who now works in digital media. When not writing, you can find him scoping out the latest sushi spot, watching ‘House Hunters Renovation’, or trying new recipes in the kitchen. He lives with his wife and dog in Los Angeles.

Website:

jamesmorriswriter.com

Twitter:

JMorrisWriter

Genre:

SuspenseYoung AdultThriller

Influences:

Ray Bradbury, Ernest Hemingway, Stephen King

PicsArt_11-26-08.34.33

8 thoughts on “Author Interview: Mr. James Morris

Leave a Reply

