More than this (More than #1)

 

18285151

Author: Jay Mclean

Published: July 10, 2013

IMG_20151126_223635

PicsArt_11-26-07.34.37

When Mikayla imagined her prom night, she envisioned a fairy-tale evening full of romance. So when betrayal and tragedy come in quick succession, Mikayla is completely destroyed. Suddenly, everything she loved and everyone she relied on are tragically, irrevocably gone.

Jake, a handsome boy she just met, happens to witness her loss. With no one to turn to, Mikayla is forced to depend on this near stranger and his family, and he in turn is determined to take care of her. But Mikaylaβ€”thrust into adulthood with no one to guide herβ€”is desperate to contain her grief and hide what she considers to be her weakness. Mikayla and Jake both want more, but despite their growing closeness and intense chemistry, she tries to keep her distance and protect her heart. As he does everything in his power to win her trust, Mikayla must choose between remaining alone and safe or letting love in.

PicsArt_11-26-07.35.45

“So that when you find your Jake Andrews you would know. You would know what is felt like to stand in front of your forever.”

Tragedies came at her life of Mikayla in one night. Her boyfriend dumps her and her own family killed in their house by an unknown killer. The world of Mikayla shattered into pieces, but unexpectedly, Jake Andrews made her life complete little by little.

More Than This by Jay McLean gave me a heartache with a combination of smile and a love that would see both in my eyes. I was truly attached to the story and to the characters, that I am not aware that I’m disappearing in my real world. I just missed reading that kind of story.

Somehow, there were still flaws that I noticed at the flow of the story. First, the characters; Mikayla, I was so annoyed at her at first. Her indecisiveness towards her feelings to Jake became an annoyance for me. She like him then she didn’t. Jake, aha! Perfect boyfriend. That’s it. πŸ˜€ and Megan, oh God I’m so annoyed at her! I know what you did but not caring for your f*cking best friend? It’s too much! And lastly, my favourite character goes to… Logan! I laugh and inspired (really!) At the words spit from his mouth. And his character was I honestly appreciated. Especially in this scenario when Logan speaks to Mikayla:

“Maybe you don’t need to be a complete person, maybe you do. But maybe, he’s it. Maybe he’s the other half of you.”

See? A great friend indeed. There were still more scenarios that I’m so awe for him. The story sounds clichΓ© but I admitted that I easily captivated by this book from the first line until to the last page. All in all, the story, the characters own flaws and the ending gave me a smile plastered until now in my face. 4.5/5 stars

Lesson learned:

-There are still people, A LOT of people who will be there at your brokenness. Alot of them, I think–strangers.

-“I love you, more than a lot”. Say it everyday, not just only I love you but with this complete, inspiring sentence.

IMG_20151126_223635

PicsArt_11-26-08.28.07

128-128-a97f9264809c50ac09a0a254d1129608bookdepository-89_600Amazon (1)

PicsArt_11-26-08.34.33

 

One thought on “More than this (More than #1)

  1. Pingback: November wrap-up |

Leave a Reply

