When it rains (When it rains #1)

 

17833493

When It Rains (Rains #1)

Author: Lisa De Jong

Published: January 1, 2013

IMG_20151126_223635

PicsArt_11-26-07.34.37

One night changed my life forever.

Beau Bennett has been my best friend since I can remember. He was my first crush before everything came crashing down, and now he wants more, but it’s more than I can give him. Things are different now. I wish I could tell him why, but I can’t.

I haven’t told anyone.

I never knew how much I really needed him until the day he left for college, and I was completely alone.

Then one day, Asher Hunt rides into town with his dark, captivating eyes and cocky grin. He doesn’t care who I used to be, he’s simply breathing life into what’s left. People warn me to stay away from him, but he helps me forget the pain that has held me hostage for so long; something I thought was impossible before he walked into my life.

I’ve been hurt.

I’ve been saved.

And I’ve found hope.

I thought my story was written that night, but now I know it was only a new beginning. Until one secret turns my world upside down…

Again.

PicsArt_11-26-07.35.45

“You don’t live because of me. You live because you let me love you. You made the choice to breathe all on your own. I just helped you find the strength to inhale.”

A tragedy that broke the life of Kate two years ago. It made her life miserable and pushing away all the people she loves at the edge of a cliff. Until she met Asher, he made her life put into pieces again. But, she was not ready to shatter her life and heart again.

When It Rains by Lisa De Jong tackles so many lessons. It also address a sensitive issue that most of us are hard to hear and see the entire issue. A story of life’s lesson and a love story spreads throughout the book. But before that, I want to pinpoint firsts the important details in the book.

The characters:

Kate:

Her character really improved in this story. From being a less worth person to a motivated girl. Her character really deepens my understanding about her situation. It was not easy though. Her struggles, her fears, every inch of it little by little stabbed my heart slowly. Her progress makes me want to hug her tightly.

Beau and Asher:

Their characters that I adored so much. Their strengths and understanding really gave a strong foundation in this book.

Story:

Lisa De Jong really writes something that would stab your heart slowly. I wouldn’t notice the heartache, but the tears in my eyes never lies the heart twisting that I felt as I progress reading the book. Though the book was not perfect, it has also it’s own flaws, but it was WORTH it.

Lesson:

I learned so many lessons inside this book that I honestly grab and placed in my heart. Everyday in my life I notice it but immediately forget it as the day passes by, but by this-it sticks in my heart.

The issue was as I said, a “sensitive” one for me. It’s not only a “love story”, it also proves something that we needed to open our eyes and be aware of this. We also need to appreciate and understand all the persons around us, especially like “Kate”.

Family, friends and loved ones. They are the one who are there for us always. Cherish them, don’t take them for granted. There’s a lot of lessons that I truly learned in this book. But, I don’t want to spoil all out for you. I want you to discover it by yourself. This book is a 5/5 stars rating for me.

IMG_20151126_223635

PicsArt_11-26-08.24.58

128-128-a97f9264809c50ac09a0a254d1129608  bookdepository-89_600  Amazon (1)

PicsArt_11-26-08.34.33

4 thoughts on “When it rains (When it rains #1)

Leave a Reply

