A Monster Calls

8027777922_1ea5f6092f_o.jpg

Author: Patrick Ness

from the original idea of Siobhan Dowd

IMG_20151126_223635

PicsArt_11-26-07.34.37The monster showed up after midnight. As they do. 

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the nightmare he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming. . . .

This monster, though, is something different. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

Patrick Ness spins a tale from the final story idea of Siobhan Dowd, whose premature death from cancer prevented her from writing it herself. Darkly mischievous and painfully funny, A Monster Calls is an extraordinarily moving novel about coming to terms with loss from two of our finest writers for young adults.

PicsArt_11-26-07.35.45

WOW!

This one word and three letters was the only thing I whispered after I read this full-impact story. I was intrigued at first what would be this story all about. I asked myself—Was this another “cliché” stories I had read this past months? Or another story that would annoy me until the end? But–I was wrong…

tumblr_n74ilqp0me1traztgo1_500

Conor O’ Malley, the main character in the story of A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. He always saw a Monster in their house that eventually helped him find the TRUTH. Oh for heaven’s sake! I will not summarize all the amazing events in this book. I just want to tell you what it was really all about.  I just want to experience it by yourselves. I’m sorry. 😛

Do you want to know what I felt while reading this? I will give it to you one by one…

Amazement: I was amazed how the concept of the story captivated me from the first line until the end. The idea in this story and the events engrossed me and never let me go back to my own real world.

Heart-twisting (not literally): My heart twisting scenes were the one with encounter of Conor with her sick mother. I can’t control my heart to ache for what he felt and what Conor was going through at that moment.

Inspiration:

“There is not always a good guy. Nor is there always a bad one. Most people are somewhere in between.”

 I was inspired with this line in the story. This tells that everyone has “no” capability to be a pure good or evil. We just need to accept that if there was a bad person, we must believe there was still a good side in his/her personality.

This review that I composed was not “enough” for you to believe that it has a special “something” inside this—even if the cover makes you want to scream because admit it, it was not as good as the others. Oh well, don’t judge the book by its cover. If you do it, you will regret why you didn’t read it this 2015. *Wink

PicsArt_11-26-08.24.58

128-128-a97f9264809c50ac09a0a254d1129608  bookdepository-89_600  Amazon (1)

PicsArt_11-26-08.34.33

4 thoughts on “A Monster Calls

Leave a Reply

