You were here by Cori McCarthy

 

25679559

Title: You were here

Author: Cori McCarthy

Format: Kindle Edition

Pages: 400 pages

Expected publication: March 1, 2016

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
5 Stars
IMG_20151126_223635
PicsArt_11-26-07.34.37

Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points of view – combined with stunning illustrations.

Jaycee is about to accomplish what her older brother Jake couldn’t: live past graduation.

Jaycee is dealing with her brother’s death the only way she can – by re-creating Jake’s daredevil stunts. The ones that got him killed. She’s not crazy, okay? She just doesn’t have a whole lot of respect for staying alive.

Jaycee doesn’t expect to have help on her insane quest to remember Jake. But she’s joined by a group of unlikely friends – all with their own reasons for completing the dares and their own brand of dysfunction: the uptight, ex-best friend, the heartbroken poet, the slacker with Peter Pan syndrome, and… Mik. He doesn’t talk, but somehow still challenges Jayce to do the unthinkable-reveal the parts of herself that she buried with her brother.

Cori McCarthy’s gripping narrative defies expectation, moving seamlessly from prose to graphic novel panels and word art poetry, perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, Jennier Niven, and Jandy Nelson. From the petrifying ruins of an insane asylum to the skeletal remains of the world’s largest amusement park, You Were Here takes you on an unforgettable journey of friendship, heartbreak and inevitable change.

PicsArt_11-26-07.35.45

Thank you NetGalley and Sourcebooks Fire for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Before I write this review, I just want to share what had just happened. I stared at my paper almost 10 minutes of how I would justify the book, looking for it’s flaws. But damn! It was just hard to think the cons in this story. It doesn’t mean that it was the “perfect one”, “perfect book”, “perfect characters”, “perfect story”. Just a simple description, “perfectly imperfect.”

Jaycee Strangelove, great name isn’t it? Her brother died and Jaycee was left suffering emotionally. Born also to be a daredevil, Jaycee find the places Jake explored. Together with her ex-best friend Natalie, Jake, Bishop and Jaycee’s childhood friend Mik. They explore together, dare together, but they didn’t find what they were looking for–they find the missing parts of themselves.

I was astonished by the concept of this book that I promised to myself that I will going to re-read it soon. The story was not only making you imagined in your own heads, thus the story inside made it real. (You will soon find out why. :))

The characters, I mean my buddies? I felt I was became closer to them. I never had so much attachment to the characters that I had read. Yes, I was really engrossed to all the YA’s stories especially to the main character. But this one, main characters or not, I really invest my feelings for them. Like they were just in front of you, sitting beside you, and confess with you. They were REAL. From now on, they will be my fictional squad. 🙂 #Squadgoals

To the story, hell I was really captivated. Like I am the paper and they were the glue, put it together and they will never pull away, except–if you tried to detached it, it will shattered into pieces. (Sorry I was not good for examples. Lol) anyway, I was also astonished to the places mentioned in the book, and God they were absolutely real! I Google it (thanks Google I owe you one) and this are the examples of the places.

Gates of hell.jpg
Gates of Hell
The Gargeau lake park.jpg
The Big Dipper roller coaster
The Ridges
The Ridges

Huh! To be an UrbEx (Urban Explorer) was the coolest thing I had never imagined, besides skateboarding anyway. 😛 how I wish I will become one. Haha!

tumblr_ltnp08gjiv1qc9qam

Okay, to end this review, I would like to pinpoint the main lesson in this story. “Don’t find yourself in someone else’s shadow, because you will never find it no matter how hard you find.”

IMG_20151126_223635

PicsArt_12-16-05.01.13 (1)PicsArt_12-16-05.04.10PicsArt_12-16-05.04.48

PicsArt_11-26-08.34.33

3 thoughts on “You were here by Cori McCarthy

Leave a Reply

