Ruby’s Choice-A book review

25971277Author: D.F. Jones

Format: Paperback

Pages: 184 pages

Publication date: July 23, 2015

Publisher: D.F.Jones
IMG_20151126_223635
PicsArt_11-26-07.34.37
Ditch Lane Diaries: Ruby’s Choice is the debut novel by D.F. Jones and book one of the Ditch Lane Diaries. Ruby’s Choice is a coming of age story set in the late 1970’s in Middle Tennessee with a splash of paranormal which will blossom in the second and third books of the series. Ruby’s Choice-Everglade, Tennessee, 1977 Stuck in the Middle with Two Ever since Ruby discovered an amber-encased spider web in the Campbell Ridge Cave, she has had dreams of births, deaths and glimpses into the future.
Ruby’s dreams have foretold the daughter of her high school friend, Cathy, the death of her beloved Aunt Sammie, and the coming of a new love in her life. Ruby’s shift is coming to a close at Everglade General Store. As she stacks the last row of bath soap, Ruby recalls the delicious dream she had the night before. In the dream, a gorgeous guy is kissing a tickle spot, just behind her left earlobe, sending shivers up her spine. If only that dream could come true, instead of the one where a state trooper gives her a seventy-five dollar speeding ticket! Ruby snaps back to reality when she hears the store’s front door bells chime. If she didn’t know any better, she’d say the frickin’ Adonis from her sexy dream just walked through the door.
Reed Jackson and Brent Brown introduce themselves to Ruby as members of the local baseball team her brother, George, manages. Brent mentions they specifically came out to the store to meet George’s hot, little sister. Ruby is slightly confused when she hears Reed murmur Tap It under his breath, but then she remembers the rumor going around campus about Reed and Brent’s dating game, where the two best friends compete to have a girl profess undying love to one of them. And Tap It is a winner takes all—all of what, though, Ruby has no clue. Ruby decides that she’ll play along, but according to her rules. She’ll suss out if either of these players is worthy of her love and respect. One thing is for sure, Ruby is no pawn. Who will be Ruby’s Choice?
IMG_20151126_223635
My thoughts

“To the Ditch Lane Diaries. May we grow in knowledge and use our powers to help others.”

I received this copy of book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

It was a big pleasure for me reading this book. A light, captivating and with a different kind of bent to the most NA stories that I ever read. Ruby Jane Glenn, together with Sandy and Anna—her best friends came in a creepy cave that turns out to be a changed of destiny for the three of them. They found three gems and each of them discovered the capabilities of each precious stones. As the years passed by, Ruby Jane discovered that some of her vivid dreams, good or bad turned to become real. But even though she knew her own fate, she made a decision to make her destiny go with her own flow.

To be honest, I really didn’t read what the synopsis of the book and its reviews. Is it because I want to judge the book based on what I had felt while reading this, and I really want to dive into the story without expecting “big” based on the synopsis. So, this was what I have concluded.

As I turn the page of this beautiful book (I really love the cover of it, honestly) my excitement for this book grows really big. The story has a simple twist not only to the main point but also for main character. It was not a classic NA story with sex, love, you name it. But, it has some mysterious and exciting part for the character—Ruby. As I said from the first paragraph, Ruby and her best of friends found a gems that later on became a reason to have their own “powers”. No! It was not a fantasy. It’s just the author D.F. Jones gave her story a simple twist that I indeed liked it.

To Ruby Jane, hey girl! I am a little bit annoyed at you at first. But as the years stories went by, I was able to know you better. There were some parts that she became indecisive with some of her decisions. But, well—who are the characters that have you read doesn’t became indecisive with their decisions? Name it! My comment was just simple, “Flawed characters are the best!”

To the story, um.. expect some kind of BIG love triangle (If you “hate” love triangle stories, better leave my review. LOL. 😛) Okay, this story was a perfect combination of love, friendship and choosing your own destiny. 4 out of 5 stars was my rating for this book. Almost a perfect story for me, but I honestly became bit (just a little bit) confused to the point-of-views of the characters, namely—Ruby, Reed and Brent. But, because I have the power to cope up easily, I was able to manage to go with the flow in the book. And because of that, I am excited to continue this extraordinary Ditch Lane Diaries and to know what will happen for the three of them.

D.F. Jones is really a good author. She really writes something that I hope she will grow more in this kind of passion she is doing right now. For all the Indie authors, you really captured my heart!

See all my reviews here. 🙂

IMG_20151126_223635

About the Author:

author1-150x150

 

After years of developing creative advertising for my clients, I decided to write something for myself. It turned into my debut novel, Ruby’s Choice. If you love to read and get immersed into the characters of a book, then you will catch a small drift of how incredible it is to write your own characters and breathe them into life. I love Ruby’s Choice and I trust you will enjoy reading her story.

Ruby’s Choice (Ditch Lane Diaries, Vol 1i) is available at most major booksellers. Anna’s Way (Ditch Lane Diaries, Vol 2), is estimated to release in Spring 2016. Antique Mirror is available in the anthology, Mirror, Mirror: A Collection of Halloween.

May love light the way!

IMG_20151126_223635

PicsArt_12-16-05.01.13 (1)  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.10  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.48

4 Stars

PicsArt_11-26-08.34.33

3 thoughts on “Ruby’s Choice-A book review

Leave a Reply

