Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

25732062

Author: Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

Format: E-book

Publication date: January 5, 2016

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

4 Stars

IMG_20151126_223635

PicsArt_11-26-07.34.37

Seventeen-year-old Mercedes Ayres has an open-door policy when it comes to her bedroom, but only if the guy fulfills a specific criteria: he has to be a virgin. Mercedes lets the boys get their awkward fumbling first times over with, and all she asks in return is that they give their girlfriends the perfect first time-the kind Mercedes never had herself.

Keeping what goes on in her bedroom a secret has been easy – so far. Her mother isn’t home nearly enough to know about Mercedes’ extracurricular activities, and her uber-religious best friend, Angela, won’t even say the word “sex” until she gets married. But Mercedes doesn’t bank on Angela’s boyfriend finding out about her services and wanting a turn – or on Zach, who likes her for who she is instead of what she can do in bed.

When Mercedes’ perfect system falls apart, she has to find a way to salvage her own reputation -and figure out where her heart really belongs in the process. Funny, smart, and true-to-life, Firsts is a one-of-a-kind young adult novel about growing up.

IMG_20151126_223635
My thoughts

…It wasn’t about helping the virgins. It was about helping myself.

Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn was about a girl named Mercedes “Mercy” Ayres. Just a typical girl you know. Hanging out with her friends, went to school, attending prayer groups with her best friend Angela and anything that a simple girl will do. But, behind her simplicity and an angelic face was a person who took the virginity of someone else’s boyfriend. Yeah, she made it for a purpose—to make the couple’s first intimate sex memorable.

This story was literally an impact for me. Mercedes Ayres who took the virginity of someone else’s boyfriend was really a mind boggling. And I think it was (is) really possible that it is really happening in real life. But to put this kind of storyline in a book was indeed an incredible one! To all the persons who will read this, please put your mind open for once! LOL.

Laurie Elizabeth Flynn succeeded in putting this and it made a great impression for me. To the main character Mercy, her character seems strong yet seems so vulnerable. A real kind of person though. She has the two sided personalities, the good and the bad. At firsts, I asked myself what was the reason why she made it; yes she wants to guide the guy to make the couple’s first sex memorable. Then, what was the deeper purpose of it? And then suddenly… bam! I discovered it! Oh, no, no, and a big NO! I will not spoil or give you a hint of what I have discovered. Just see it for yourself. 🙂

Well, four (4) stars for this book. Why not five (5)? Because the later parts of the story became a bit dull to me. To be honest I already predicted what would happen; but I will never lie that I liked this book. It has an impressive storyline, great characters and an addictive concept. It also gave me a perfect combination of astonishment, heartaches, happy and sad moments that I want in a story. But as I said, the last parts were a little bit dull and too fast.  I just want it more! But, I guess I still liked it what it is. 😉

All in all, I just learned two things in this story; just two only, duh! First, learn from your mistakes and second, lift your chin up no matter how many mistakes you’ve done in your whole life.

 

IMG_20151126_223635

 

PicsArt_12-16-05.01.13 (1)  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.48  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.10

 

PicsArt_11-26-08.34.33

6 thoughts on “Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

Leave a Reply

