Cruel crown-Victoria Aveyard

25944381

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Format: Paperback

Publication date: January 5, 2016

Publisher: Harper Teen

IMG_20151126_223635

PicsArt_11-26-07.34.37

Two women on either side of the Silver-Red divide tell the stories no one else knows.

Discover the truth of Norta’s bloody past in these two revealing prequels to #1 New York Times bestseller Red Queen.

Also includes an exclusive excerpt of the hotly anticipated second book in the Red Queen series! Glass Sword transports readers to the world of Silver tyranny, a Red dawn rising, and one girl’s resolve to break down the system that will hold her back no longer.

Queen Song
Queen Coriane, first wife of King Tiberias, keeps a secret diary—how else can she ensure that no one at the palace will use her thoughts against her? Coriane recounts her heady courtship with the crown prince, the birth of a new prince, Cal, and the potentially deadly challenges that lay ahead for her in royal life.

Steel Scars
Diana Farley was raised to be strong, but being tasked with planting the seeds of rebellion in Norta is a tougher job than expected. As she travels the land recruiting black market traders, smugglers, and extremists for her first attempt at an attack on the capital, she stumbles upon a connection that may prove to be the key to the entire operation—Mare Barrow.

IMG_20151126_223635

My thoughts

Cruel crown by Victoria Aveyard was the combination of two digital novellas in her Red Queen series; the Queen Song and the Steel scars. And for this review of this book, I will review it based on each novellas.

IMG_20151126_223635

25005214

4 Stars

 

The first novella in the cruel crown was all about Queen Coriane’s story; the mother of Prince Cal and the former wife of King Tiberias. I really admired the character of Queen Coriane in this story, her fears and her dreams to get away from being a part in a silver community. I am not really a fond of main characters that were so “weak” especially if this was the main character. But Queen Coriane was an exception; well, she seems so weak based on how she describes herself. But, there was something in her character that so very strong that I cannot decipher exactly. If I choose between Mare Barrow and Queen Coriane, I choose the latter. Sorry. I just loved the development of her here, and the freaking ending was absolutely leaving me hanging.

IMG_20151126_223635

steelscars_epicreads

2 Stars

I think this will not be a review but a RANT. How freaking boring this Captain Farley’s story?! If you are a captain and you want to tell your story was this a required to be so boring? I just… ugh. I just wished Victoria Aveyard chose a better character not Farley. Hmph! I really want to love it as I read it, but gosh! My mind said that “don’t fool yourself baby, go away and pick a better one.” Yeah, my mind said that.

Cruel Crown:

All in all I liked the Cruel crown, but I am really disappointed to the latter part. I expected a lot from this novella. And I hope, Glass Sword will not disappoint me.

See all my reviews here. 🙂

IMG_20151126_223635

3 Stars

PicsArt_12-16-05.04.48  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.10  PicsArt_12-16-05.01.13 (1)

PicsArt_11-26-08.34.33

Leave a Reply

