Book review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

13519397

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Format: Paperback

Publication date: August 2. 2012

Publisher: Bloomsbury

4 Stars

IMG_20151126_223635

PicsArt_11-26-07.34.37

Meet Celaena Sardothien.
Beautiful. Deadly.
Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake: she got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?

IMG_20151126_223635

My thoughts

Last 2015, every time I browsed on my bookstagram (Instagram) account; I just noticed that everyone was making compliments and recommendations on how the premise of Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas was so good. So, I decided to add it in my grrrroooowwwiinnng TBR list. Don’t ask how many, you wouldn’t like it. LOL. But then, I decided to not read it sooner because I don’t want to join YET the fandom of this book. I just wait the right time to read it and I know there were spoilers around my side, and I don’t care! Until, the right time has come and I finally read the famous book of 2015, I think? And woah! Well what can I say? You saw my ratings right? Do I owe you an explanation? Come on. LOL. Seriously, I will pinpoint what were the reasons why I liked about this book.

First, the characters; Celaena Sardothien was really a bad-ass woman with a combination of pureness on her heart. Sarah J. Maas built her characters with such perfectness and with flaws also. Beautiful, witty, smart, strong and with weaknesses that Celaena was capable of.

My name is Celaena Sardothien, but it makes no difference if my name’s Celaena or Lillian or Bitch, because I’d still beat you, no matter what you call me.

Oh yeah! What a bad-ass woman. While Chaol and Dorian—an adorable and cute like a unicorn bromance. LOL. Well, I didn’t want to conclude what are my thoughts about them; I just want to focus first on Celaena and how she would make it from being a prison to a deadly woman in the kingdom of Adarlan.

Second, world built up; I just noticed that, to have a great story line you need to have a world with full of magic’s and different creatures as well. I will not disagree to that; because a world with full of magic’s and magical people was a great requirement to have. There was something on how Sarah made it with balance and still with awesomeness. A sign that you love the world built by the author was when you really lost in your OWN world. And that’s me!

6358874632606325951211738639_busy

The characters, the world, all in all it was so beautifully written. Light read with some power and strength was indeed so awesome! Thus, I conclude that the hype and the premise I got from this book was undeniably splendid. It really met my expectations and I easily involved to the world I indulged in.

But, if I liked it, why does I rated it 4 stars? Yeah, four stars; the reason for that was I’ve been reading fantasy-slash-dystopian-slash-heavy-stories-slash-kind-of-books these past few days or months? I also get tired of reading consecutive identical genres ya know? After this, I need a break to this genre, honestly. This is my favourite genre; and I know I’ll come back to you. LOL. And plus, I didn’t want to rate this book so very high because there are still an entire series that I need to pamper.

And finally, I hope I made myself clear about why and how I rated it four stars. All in all, this was still a prodigious book for me. My first  read was two thumbs!

See all my reviews HERE.

IMG_20151126_223635

PicsArt_12-16-05.01.13 (1)  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.48  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.10

PicsArt_11-26-08.34.33

Leave a Reply

