Book review: Clipped Wings by Helena Hunting

13424368

Author: Helena Hunting

Format: Kindle edition

Publication date: March 4, 2014

Publisher: Gallery books

4 Stars

IMG_20151126_223635

PicsArt_11-26-07.34.37

An emotional love story that follows the touch-and-go relationship of Hayden and Tenley; two young people who desperately want to love and be loved but are afraid to completely let go of their pasts.

As Hayden and Tenley navigate their newfound but slightly unstable relationship, they want to trust each other, but Hayden is hiding a dark and shameful past that he doesn’t ever want Tenley to find out about. And Tenley has secrets of her own that could make Hayden run away forever. When Tenley asks Hayden to put a beautifully elaborate tattoo across her back, the two form what they thought was an unshakeable bond. But when Tenley’s past shows up on her doorstep, will Hayden stand by her side…or run?

IMG_20151126_223635

My thoughts

“He had become a new addiction, one far more dangerous than pills.”

Clipped Wings by Helena Hunting was all about a two different persons with identical dark past experiences inside their hearts and lives. At first, it was not easy for them to get attached specially to Tenley, because of the accident happened less than year ago. While Hayden, a tattooist at the Inked Armor; a business partnered by Chris, Lisa and Jamie were founded by them. Hunted also by his own past; Hayden shift his feelings by inking a tattoo’s to his clients. Until the two shattered persons met with the same passion, Tenley wants to have her own tattoo at her back to ease the pain and the lost she felt, and the one who will give it to her was Hayden. Their relationship became like a dance for them, a rhythm of forward and backward steps. It was not easy for them to get attached, until it became too strong enough to leave each other.

Honestly, it took me so long to finish this book, not because I got jaded or it wasn’t as good as it seems. The reason for that was, Clipped Wings were too heavy for me to bear, and I was not in the mood for heavy dramatic stories for the past few weeks. Yes, I felt it and I really, really felt it; the atmosphere surrounding to the characters were too hot to accept, and I just need to breathe some fresh air to calm my pounding heart. Phew! I read several kinds of stories identical with this one, but this—it was exceptional. The characters felt so real, you felt heartaches and at the same time you were swooning at the place you were currently reading.

The characters—Hayden and Tenley were outstanding; if they were an actor’s I bet they will become one of the best. Ugh! They felt so real! You easily became attached to their brokenness that they want to share their wrecked lives with you (Oh no, don’t give me that one!) There were still childishness on the part of Tenley, still I tried to understand her grief’s. Hayden on the other hand, was the character I adored so much, not because of his shitness he became long time ago, but his willingness to heal.

This was my first Helena Hunting read, and I regret nothing. Yes, there was heaviness in it, still her writing made a control over a reader like me. And I’m glad I was able to face this book with such strengths, because if I was not in my full armor, then imagine that I was currently healing myself because of the bulk of sadness forming in my human heart.

I hope I made a great impression on how this book stunningly captured my heart. To end this review, I will make a great execution with a quote also, 4 out 5 stars for this achingly beautiful story.

“Maybe that was where the connection came from: we were linked through the pain of loss.”

IMG_20151126_223635

PicsArt_12-16-05.01.13 (1)  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.10  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.48

PicsArt_11-26-08.34.33

2 thoughts on “Book review: Clipped Wings by Helena Hunting

Leave a Reply

