Book review: Six of crows by Leigh Bardugo

23006119

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Format: Paperback

Publication date: September 29, 2015

Publisher: Indigo

5 Stars

IMG_20151126_223635

PicsArt_11-26-07.34.37

The Grisha Trilogy introduced readers to the irresistible fantasy world of the Grisha – and now Leigh Bardugo brings us a new sweeping epic.

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price – and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy, Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone.

A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.
A runaway with a privileged past.
A spy known as the Wraith.
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction – if they don’t kill each other first.

IMG_20151126_223635My thoughts

“Men mock the Gods, until they need them.”

Six of crows by Leigh Bardugo was my first book wrote by this author. Well, I’ve became really interested to the blurb of this story.

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the wraith.

A heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escape.

The synopsis was amaze-balls! But, when the time it was released; I was a bit hesitant to read it soon because honestly, I haven’t read the Grisha trilogy wrote by the same author. But when someone asked if it was okay to read it first without reading the first three books, Saints! (The term used in Ketterdam) it said it was okay! Oh gosh! Let’s start fangirling here! *Squeal

I think this will not turn out to be a review, rather a statement of a fangirl. LOL.

tumblr_inline_nnwsqcetdw1tqk334_500
(c) gif credits to owner.

So, I’ll tell first what is my statement about the story itself:

As I mentioned, I haven’t read the GRISHA trilogy that Leigh Bardugo wrote first. (Oh gosh, don’t throw tomatoes on me)

This story took place two years ago, after the Ruin and Rising (based on my trusted source. LOL. :D)  I wasn’t really aware of what, who, or how was the Grisha. That’s why I am blinded while reading this, but Saints! The story wasn’t really hard to pick-up and you were not left-behind as the story went on. Your brain asked some of the details, but it was followed easily by the best answer; and it was the reason that I loved it. Plus, the pacing and story was a balance combination of splendid, action-packed and pleasurable read that would keep you wanting for more like a JURDA PAREM. (Drug used to the GRISHA)

As for the characters, well I really, really love this crew! Best gang ever! Namely: Jesper, Wylan, Inej, Matthias, Nina and my new fictional crush—KAZ BREKKER.

thegang
(c) Photo credits to owner

tumblr_m8wvi7rqu71ra7x63o1_500
(c) gif credits to owner

They were different persons but when the six of them combined they were literally #squadgoals. This was the scene that really made me smile:

…Kaz leaned back. “What’s the easiest way to deal a man’s wallet?”

“Knife to the throat?” asked Inej.

“Gun to back?” said Jesper.

“Poison in his cup?” suggested Nina.

“You’re all horrible.” said Matthias.

Well, I find this scene so cute. 😀

Seriously, the combination of their skills and cleverness made my journey in this book fantastic! I just realized that I didn’t need to read a lot of love story or too much fantasy to enjoy a book. This book proves it.

My first Leigh Bardugo book was so prodigious! Why I didn’t read this the soonest? Well, I still end-up reading this. And please, give me the sequel? I need it—and I miss the GANG already.

IMG_20151126_223635

PicsArt_12-16-05.01.13 (1)  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.10  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.48

PicsArt_11-26-08.34.33

 

15 thoughts on “Book review: Six of crows by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Fantastic review, Nicay! I still can’t believe I haven’t read Six of Crows! I actually preordered it but I haven’t had a chance to pick up to read yet. However, I’ve heard the same exact praise you mentioned in your review. I can’t wait to meet the cast and fall in love of them. You should definitely try Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone trilogy next. The Darkling is just omg. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

