Book review: The Prophecy of Shadows (Elementals #1)

11992012

Author: Michelle Madow

Format: Digital copy

Publication date: January 26, 2016

Publisher: Dreamscape Publishing

4 Stars

divider_zpsdh08zpkc

PicsArt_11-26-07.34.37

Witches are real. They’re descendants of the Greek gods. Now, five witches with elemental powers must fight to stop a war against the Titans.

Nicole Cassidy is the new girl in town with a new problem — she’s a witch descended from gods. Despite doubts about her newfound abilities, she’s welcomed into this ancient circle of witches and is bedazzled by their powers — and by Blake, the town’s notorious bad-boy.

When the Olympian Comet shoots through the sky for the first time in three thousand years, Nicole, Blake, and three of their classmates are gifted with mysterious powers. But the comet has another effect — it opens the portal to another dimension that has imprisoned the Titans for centuries. After an ancient monster escapes, they’re forced to follow a cryptic prophecy, while learning to work together to stop the spread of evil. If only they can succeed in time to save their town… and possibly the world.

divider_zpsdh08zpkc

My thoughts

“Everything I once believed to be true had been turned upside down, and even though it was crazy and possibly dangerous, I loved every second of it.”

Nicole Cassidy has turned her world from normal to extraordinary once she learned that she has the powers that the humans can’t do. As she progressed to accept the changes, she met new people with same fate like hers. And as she made her life an exciting one, it was included Blake – one hot male witch that would join in their mission. Monsters, powerful enemies were ready to defeat the five elemental holders – the fire, the water, earth, air, and Nicole Cassidy, the daughter of a God.

The Prophecy of Shadows (Elementals #1) by Michelle Madow was an amazing read for me. I found myself admiring the world Michelle Madow has made. I really loved the world with some magic and with a touch of Greek mythology aspects. I have been interested to this kind of topic in which it didn’t fail to attract me to the extent.

There’s just one point that I honestly found annoying – the semi insta-love, I think? Why does every chapter Nicole always insert her admiration to Blake? And it really bothers me at all. I guess it didn’t really need to put such kind of love interests when the story itself was great. It turned out to be, well, not good at all.

The action scenes were okay for me, but I need some more.  And I’m excited to continue and know about this series.

divider_zpsdh08zpkc

PicsArt_12-16-05.01.13 (1)  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.10  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.48

PicsArt_11-26-08.34.33

Leave a Reply

