Error 404: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar children & what were the facts that I didn’t quite like at all.

9460487

Author: Ransom Riggs

Format: Paperback

Publication date: June 7, 2011

Publisher: Quirk books

3 Stars

divider_zpsdh08zpkc

PicsArt_11-26-07.34.37

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography.

divider_zpsdh08zpkc

My thoughts

To be honest, I was afraid to read this after I’ve read mixed reviews regarding to this book. I ignored this for a long time even though my eyes linger on this book every time I went to the bookstores. But, when the trailer of this comes out, I kinda love what Tim Burton has made, and it really triggers my strength to read this book… finally.

So… 3 stars. Not so good and not so bad.

The story comes up with Jacob exploring his grandfather’s last will before he died – he must find the Peculiar house that his grandfather went during the world war, and to warned them that some monsters were into the peculiar children and they was in a dangerous state. His parents didn’t believe what has Jacob said, they think he was still in a stage of mourning after that incident. But, in very bizarre circumstances, Jacob found the Peculiar house and also the headmistress of it – Miss Peregrine.

…and welcome to the PECULIAR HOUSE.

 “I don’t mean to be rude. I said, ‘But what are you people?’

“We’re PECULIAR”. He replied, sounding a bit puzzled.

“Aren’t you?”

“I don’t know. I don’t think so.”

“That’s a shame.”

To be honest, I’m a PECULIAR also. I have the eerie ability of… making you smile.

Just kidding. LOL. Well, seriously, I hope I made you smile today. 🙂

(Okay class, back to your seats now, I will back to my SERIOUS review.)

…Inhale.. Exhale..

Yeah. I was a little bit scared while reading this one – at first. Yes, I felt goose bumps when I looked to the photographs included in the book, but it was eroded eventually. I still liked this one, and I found some great things in this book even in the negative sides of it. Well, I honestly enjoyed it (was it weird that I found it enjoying even though this book would make me scared at all?) Oh gosh.

Okay. I will rephrase it; I found this book entertaining at all.

You knew the feeling that you were entertained by a book by flipping and flipping and ignoring your surrounding while immersing in this entirely? This book made this to me. Set aside the fact that I wasn’t buying the creepiness of this story, but I bought the entertaining value of this book – and that’s what I found on the bright side of this.

The problems:

  • The story – It must be cryptic or scary at all, right? My conclusion.

           -ERROR 404: No creepy shit found.

  • The characters – They must have development at all, right? My conclusion.

           -ERROR 404: No character/s development shit found.

Well, I’ll still read the next book of this and I’m still intrigue on what will happen to them – at least.

divider_zpsdh08zpkc

PicsArt_12-16-05.01.13 (1)  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.10  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.48

PicsArt_11-26-08.34.33

3 thoughts on “Error 404: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar children & what were the facts that I didn’t quite like at all.

Leave a Reply

