Book review: Brown Girl dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

20821284

Author: Jacqueline Woodson

Format: Kindle

Publication date: August 8, 2014

Publisher: Nancy Paulsen Books

5 Stars

divider_zpsdh08zpkc

PicsArt_11-26-07.34.37

National Book Award Winner

Jacqueline Woodson, one of today’s finest writers, tells the moving story of her childhood in mesmerizing verse.
 
Raised in South Carolina and New York, Woodson always felt halfway home in each place. In vivid poems, she shares what it was like to grow up as an African American in the 1960s and 1970s, living with the remnants of Jim Crow and her growing awareness of the Civil Rights movement. Touching and powerful, each poem is both accessible and emotionally charged, each line a glimpse into a child’s soul as she searches for her place in the world. Woodson’s eloquent poetry also reflects the joy of finding her voice through writing stories, despite the fact that she struggled with reading as a child. Her love of stories inspired her and stayed with her, creating the first sparks of the gifted writer she was to become.

divider_zpsdh08zpkc

My thoughts

“When I tell my family I want to be a writer, they smile and say, we see you in the backyard with your writing. They say we hear you making up all those stories.

And we used to write poems. And, it’s a good hobby; we see how quiet it keeps you. They say, but maybe you should be a teacher, a lawyer, do hair…

I’ll think about it, I say. And maybe all of us know this is just another one of my stories.”

Written in a very wonderful poetic storytelling, Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson was a memoir or I just would say a very inspiring story came from a woman who was once a very little girl, who dreamt to have the equal rights and making her dreams into reality.

Born in a state where brown person like her doesn’t have the opportunity to treat as white people was experiencing. Jacqueline grew up having a whole family until her parents got separated of some reasons. Then she lived and rose by her grandparents; together with her older brother and sister, while her mother was in New York. She begins to learn even though she can’t read as fast unlike other children did. But it doesn’t affect her to achieve what she wants. Until the people from her community and around the world accepted that everyone has the rights to live no matter what color of skin you have.

I may not experience what happened to Jacqueline, but I am aware of this situation, and personally I hate that. Fortunately in this century, the separation of treating others based on the color of skin they have has mend successfully.

“Black brothers, black sisters, all of them were great… But my voice grows stronger with each word because more than anything else in the world, I want to believe her.”

In our daily lives, we aim for rights we need; right to vote, right to have a proper salary according to the work of responsibilities, right to love, and the like. Jacqueline also dream to have equal privileges for brown people like her. It was easy to say right? But at that time, it was really difficult to achieve that freedom, that love they want from others – from white people. And this was what she wrote that inspired many people around the world, including me. And I am a living proof that this book was worth of a National Book award.

To the wonderful poetic prose she wrote, she touched my heart and inspired me to write this review. I will not be able to give it a justification on how beautiful this book was, but I hope that at least I touched your heart to read and inspire with this work of art, like it did to me. Words from this review were not enough, but I know my sincerity and my big praises for this was my best contribution to spread this book.

divider_zpsdh08zpkc

PicsArt_12-16-05.01.13 (1)  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.10  PicsArt_12-16-05.04.48

PicsArt_11-26-08.34.33

5 thoughts on “Book review: Brown Girl dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

Leave a Reply

