My Lady Jane: How history should be rewritten in a witty way.

22840421

Authors: Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows

Format: Kindle

Publication date: June 7, 2016

Publisher: Harper Teen

vine-divider-final

PicsArt_11-26-07.34.37

The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.

At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane gets to be Queen of England.

vine-divider-final

My thoughts

I was never meant to be a Queen.

Who could’ve guess that a rewritten history was so much fun? If all the history books were like this, well everyone will be love history. LOL.

Anyway, a very witty, exciting and splendid (okay that’s three adjectives) story created by three authors. Recommended by my friend Lola (I owe you one) and I’m so glad that I picked up this story so soon, and I was easily mingled to the book from start to finish.

Told by point of views of Edward (the king), Gifford (call him G, because he said he didn’t like his name) and yes, Jane (who loves to read books, like me) was all about how Edward knew that there were people who wants him dead and get the throne (well it just the main topic of the book, but there was something special in this story that I am happily don’t want to share until you read by your selves). Because at that the time, Edward was sick because of the said “affliction” and because he doesn’t have his own heir and still single, he alternate the original decree and made Jane the newly Queen. But, destiny was not fond of them, obviously and until it became a moment of escape, war (just quite) and an unlimited scenes of from human to animal form.

Wittiness overload; that’s how I will describe the story, the intense scenes were still there but I really enjoyed the book because of its unquestionably funny characters, the story itself and how it beautifully written. I can’t think of any dislike from this, but still I ended up bringing good points of this book. It made me smile, made me gasp for excitement, OH for the powerful scenes, and especially it made my heart swell with sweetness.

This is the perfect shape of a rewritten history that I wish I will read more like this one (But My Lady Jane will never be replaced as my favorite)

And I almost forgot, the characters – I really, really liked them! From start to finish, I really invested my feelings for them, no whiny characters or any flaws that readers that really hate and I know they will be excited about that animal form of the characters. How I wished, I will tell you more but I am not that kind, sorry. So, read it.

Ooppss. Before I end this, I would like to share some research I have done about the original story of Lady Jane, and what was really happened:

LADY JANE GREY:

The great-granddaughter of Henry VII through his younger daughter Mary, Jane was a first cousin once removed of Edward VI. In May 1553, she was married to Lord Guildford Dudley, a younger son of Edward’s chief minister, John Dudley, Duke of Northumberland. When the 15-year-old king lay dying in June 1553, he nominated Jane as successor to the Crown in his will, thus subverting the claims of his half-sisters Mary and Elizabeth under the Third Succession Act. Jane was imprisoned in the Tower of London when the Privy Council decided to change sides and proclaim Mary as queen on 19 July 1553. Jane was convicted of high treason in November 1553, which carried a sentence of death, although her life was initially spared. Wyatt’s rebellion of January and February 1554 against Queen Mary I’s plans to marry Philip of Spain led to the execution of both Jane and her husband.

Lady Jane Grey had an excellent humanist education and a reputation as one of the most learned young women of her day. A committed Protestant, she was posthumously regarded as not only a political victim but also a martyr.

Source: Wikipedia

vine-divider-final

5 Stars

PicsArt_11-26-08.34.33

One thought on “My Lady Jane: How history should be rewritten in a witty way.

Leave a Reply

