The wrath and the dawn

23654535

Author: Renee Ahdieh

Format: Kindle

Publication date: May 12, 2015

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Date finished: Jul 09, 2016

divider

PicsArt_11-26-07.34.37

Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend. She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all.

divider

My thoughts

Shazi: “You are ridiculous, Khalid Ibn al-Rashid. I am just one girl. You are the caliph of Khorasan, and you have a responsibility to a kingdom.”

Khalid: “If you are just one girl, I am just one boy”.

Repeating the last sentence in the book for the nth time – obviously, I am still in a state of shock after I finished this book. Oh my God, the feelsssss!

The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh was a retelling of One thousand and one nights, but with much intense and heart gripping scenes. Sharhzad or Shazi volunteered herself to the man who married young girls and killed before the dawn, which no one knows what the reason behind of it. Sharhzad voluntarily faced her destiny to the monster they called, to revenge the loss of her best friend Shiva, because of the same fate. Shazi was eager to end the life of the Caliph, but she ended up knowing all his secrets and what her heart truly desires.

I was now sure why this book shone with five brightly stars; and why my friends loved this – because it was inexplicably beautiful. And now, count me in for this fandom.

From the first page until the last, I devoured myself into this easily, loved the characters undeniably and cherish every outstanding line’s I see.

The story itself was so good and I can’t explain how it was delivered impeccably. The intense scenes, the plot, and the sweet sights, overall there was never a dull moment in it. While on the characters, first Shazi was truly a young brave woman, witty, smart and attractive in so many ways.

“I will live to see tomorrow’s sunset. Make no mistake. I swear I will live to see as many sunsets as it takes. And I will kill you, with my own hands.”

While Khalid, was the mysterious man I ever known. A totally powerful man but deep inside of him was a shattered and lonely heart.

“How right you are. You are not mine. I am yours.”

Every characters inside of this made a remarkable appearance that will keep you guessing what his/her truly role in it. And you will shock by the sudden advent of their roles without knowing what they are capable of.

All of this, all the parts of this book, inside and out was without any doubt, so stunning. And I can’t wait to know the conclusion of this. I will ask myself, am I ready for this?

divider

5 Stars

PicsArt_11-26-08.34.33

One thought on “The wrath and the dawn

Leave a Reply

