Book talk | The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

19321432

Author: Robyn Schneider

Publication Date: July 29, 2014

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Format: Paperback

Pages: 335 pp.

Date finished: January 23, 2017

320stars_zpsbq9nsm5v

5urhsbw1

msk9x2i

Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything is a witty and heart-wrenching teen novel that will appeal to fans of books by John Green and Ned Vizzini, novels such as The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and classics like The Great Gatsby and The Catcher in the Rye.

Varsity tennis captain Ezra Faulkner was supposed to be homecoming king, but that was before—before his girlfriend cheated on him, before a car accident shattered his leg, and before he fell in love with unpredictable new girl Cassidy Thorpe.

As Kirkus Reviews said in a starred review, “Schneider takes familiar stereotypes and infuses them with plenty of depth. Here are teens who could easily trade barbs and double entendres with the characters that fill John Green’s novels.”

Funny, smart, and including everything from flash mobs to blanket forts to a poodle who just might be the reincarnation of Jay Gatsby, The Beginning of Everything is a refreshing contemporary twist on the classic coming-of-age novel—a heart-wrenching story about how difficult it is to play the part that people expect, and how new beginnings can stem from abrupt and tragic endings.

5urhsbw1

rg0l1go

“There’s a big difference between deciding to leave and knowing where to go.”

Honestly, I don’t know what to feel about this book. It doesn’t really make an impact for me as I expected. The story revolves when Ezra Faulkner had an accident that made his other leg disabled. From a famous tennis player and a heartthrob to a simple student now. Everything changes the day he became incapacitated, the popularity, parties, the tennis team, and even friends. Until Cassidy “The Mysterious” Thorpe came, and it made his life worthy again.

As I wrote earlier, the story has no impact on me from the beginning until the end. It didn’t give anything from what I expected. Here are the reasons why:

1. The story doesn’t seem to grow from the start until the end. Yes, the words and how Robyn describes the story was okay. But as a reader, it didn’t leave any mark to me. I know you will agree with me, books that will turn your world into extraordinary will leave a special place in your heart. And that’s what the book ‘The Beginning of Everything’ lacks. I am positive that this book has the potential, but it lacks a little dig.

2. The characters were so plain. No impact made, both main characters or not.

3. No emotional attachment found. I tried to put my emotions to the story especially with the characters. But it seems that I found it really hard. Am I having a stone heart? Just kidding.

Anyway, even though I have issues regarding in this book, there were still some positive about it, the main lesson of the story – is to love and accept yourself even if others were not.

I know this book will turn into a great book, but it turns out to be a plain story that eventually after reading will not remember at all.

5urhsbw1

nicay_zpstoqikwqp

3 thoughts on “Book talk | The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

  1. I am reading this book at this very moment, and the only reason why I bought it was because of the synopsis and it was also really cheap. So far I like it a lot, and I see that the characters are simple and stereotypical, but some others I find them really funny and interesting! I usually like better the support characters than the main ones haha (I am intrigued if Toby is gay or not XD)

    Thank you for sharing! I hope you could take a look at my blog and I hope you like it!! I will be reviewing this title soon 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

