[Book review] Before I fall by Lauren Oliver

30319982

Author: Lauren Oliver

Publication Date: March 2, 2010

Publisher: Harper Collins

Format: Paperback (Movie tie-in)

Pages: 485 pp.

Date Finished: March 25, 2017

320stars_zpsbq9nsm5v

5urhsbw1

msk9x2i

What if you had only one day to live? What would you do? Who would you kiss? And how far would you go to save your own life?

Samantha Kingston has it all: the world’s most crush-worthy boyfriend, three amazing best friends, and first pick of everything at Thomas Jefferson High—from the best table in the cafeteria to the choicest parking spot. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life.

Instead, it turns out to be her last.

Then she gets a second chance. Seven chances, in fact. Reliving her last day during one miraculous week, she will untangle the mystery surrounding her death—and discover the true value of everything she is in danger of losing.

5urhsbw1

rg0l1go

What would you do if you were given a chance to live more than 7 times after a tragic accident? Will you correct the things you did before? Or you will just do nothing at all?

Samantha Kingston has everything the girl wants – the popularity, famous friends, the charm, beauty and a famous boyfriend. On the day of February 12, she thought that it would be another ordinary day with her friends, but she was wrong. Sam and her friends were caught in a tragic accident that she would never believe that anyone will survive. Until the next morning… unexpectedly she was still alive.

The blurb of the story became an intriguing one for me, the fact that you would live on the same day after a tragic accident was very interesting. And the fact that it turns out to be a movie, that I decided that I need to read this book. From the first page of the book, it really hooked me up, the sentences were truly a remarkable one, that I thought I would really enjoying reading it. But it became dull for me from the moment I start progressing during 40% of the story.

I (We) know that the story revolves around repeating the same day seven (7) times, but with little different scenarios over it. The repeating of sentences, the characters, some scenarios, it was very tiring. And I just realized until the 60% of the story.

For Samantha Kingston, I am in between. I liked her but sometimes I am irritated to her. But I still liked her character progress in the story. Well, it took so long for her to realized what she really needs to do. Still, she managed to do the right thing. The best character for me in this story was Kent, well he’s kinda cute. 

Overall, the story was okay for me, not so good and not bad either. The story was very tiring to read because of the repeated scenarios, but the main point of the story doesn’t leave behind – doing the right thing, not for yourself but most importantly to others.

5urhsbw1

nicay_zpstoqikwqp

2 thoughts on “[Book review] Before I fall by Lauren Oliver

Leave a Reply

